As a passionate manufacturer of materials, de Cavis develops and manufactures innovative processes and products in the materials sector. The journey often starts with a basic technology, which is then progressively developed into a manufacturing process and a specific product according to customer requirements.

Our main focus is the development and marketing of our patented foaming technology for the production of highly porous mineral materials with air contents between 50 and 95 vol% and the development of ceramic floats for underwater vehicles, as well as the production of high-purity and ultra-high-purity magnesium.

We are happy to assist you in the further development and marketing of your technology or product.

In addition to our development services, we also draw on our experience and broad expertise in the characterization of materials, material processing, and manufacturing processes for providing services and advice.

PRODUCTS

de Cavis offers a wide range of ceramic refractory bricks and hydraulically-bonded porous materials for a variety of potential applications, as well as ultra-high-purity 4N5 magnesium in the form of wire or in custom formats.

  • REFRACTORY BRICKS FOR APPLICATION TEMPERATURES UP TO 1700°C

    Our refractory materials are characterized by an extremely homogeneous microstructure, low weight, good mechanical strength, low thermal conductivity and good machinability. They are also free of fibers and hazardous substances. The density can be anywhere from 1500kg/m3to 200kg/m3and can be adjusted precisely, according to customer requirements. Even more complex geometries and larger formats are conceivable in addition to semi-standard blocks.

    The potential field of application for our lightweight materials is broad and we always strive to adapt the material properties to your requirements.

  • HYDRAULICALLY BONDED HEAT INSULATION AND FIRE PROTECTION MATERIALS

    Our hydraulically bonded porous materials are typically based on calcium aluminate, Portland cement, gypsum or similar materials. Depending on the application and material requirements, they have densities in the range of 80 to 1200kg/m3. Our foaming and manufacturing process also allows the production of large or complex formats.

    Typical potential application areas of our hydraulically bound mineral materials are building insulation and fire protection.

  • XHP-Mg: ULTRA-HIGH-PURITY MAGNESIUM

    The technology for producing our ultra-high-purity magnesium was developed by ETH Zurich’s Laboratory of Metal Physics and Technology. de Cavis is a licensee of this technology and is responsible for its development and commercialization.

    Our 4N5 XHP-Mg meets the highest material purity requirements and contains impurities of less than 100ppm. In particular, it is characterized by a very low average iron content of 0.6 ppm and aluminum content of 0.5 ppm. At the moment, we are producing 3 and 10-mm diameter wires. On request, diameters of 6 and 20mm as well as other formats up to 1kg are also possible.
    Furthermore, we offer high-purity magnesium in various formats.

DEVELOPMENT AND SERVICES

de Cavis accompanies you from the first conception of your new application through the definition of the desired material properties and the right choice of material up to the scaling to production scale, and performs the material and process development purposefully for you, with attention to quality. Your needs and wishes are always the focus of our work.

Since the basic development and patenting of our foaming technology, we are constantly working on its further development in order to meet our customers’ requirements and their respective application. de Cavis is exclusive licensee of the foaming technology and has the right to grant sublicenses.

Working closely with ETH Zurich’s Laboratory of Metal Physics and Technology, we continue to develop ultra-high-purity magnesium technology to meet ever-increasing material requirements and open up new markets.

  • DEVELOPMENT AND PRODUCTION OF HIGHLY-POROUS CERAMIC MATERIALS

    de Cavis’ unique foaming technology owes its origin to an accidental discovery in the research group of Prof. Ludwig Gauckler at ETH Zurich and was subsequently co-developed and patented by Dr. Gonzenbach as part of his doctorate. The technology is based on the stabilization of water-based foams by fine particles. This results in wet foams, which due to their exceptional long-term stability, can be converted into solid components that meet the highest demands for microstructure quality and homogeneity. Here, a targeted adjustment of the material density is just as possible as a wide variation of the pore structure and pore size. Even with large components, the closed or open-pored microstructure is incomparably homogeneous, allowing reliable component properties to be generated.

    The universal character of the foaming technology enables the development and production of porous materials from various raw materials such as alumina, silica, aluminosilicates, zirconia, calcium aluminate cement, Portland cement or gypsum. The foaming technology has also been extended to various polymers and metals as well as polymer-ceramic composites. More information can be found on our publication page. Due to the wide selection of materials, there are hardly any limits to the possible applications.

    The porous materials developed by de Cavis stand out due to their light-weight, excellent mechanical, thermal and electrical properties, as well as their precise machinability. In addition, they are not flammable, have no health impacts, and are free from mineral fibers. Possible application examples of our foaming technology can be found in the area of high-temperature insulation, building insulation, fire and sound insulation as well as medical technology as a bone substitute material.

    In addition to the actual foaming process, de Cavis also deals intensively with the shaping of these materials. In doing so, we’ve set ourselves the goal to manufacture not only simple shaped components, such as standard and semi-standard bricks, but also larger formats, as well as more complex geometries, through our technology.

  • DEVELOPMENT AND PRODUCTION OF ULTRA-HIGH-PURITY MAGNESIUM

    Ultra-high-purity magnesium (>99.99%) has great market potential in areas such as the semiconductor or medical industry. de Cavis develops, produces and distributes ultra-high-purity magnesium in close collaboration with ETH Zurich’s Laboratory of Metal Physics and Technology. The patented manufacturing process is based on a vacuum distillation of magnesium and was largely developed by Professors Jörg Löffler and Peter Uggowitzer as well as by Christian Wegmann. With a purity level of up to 99.995% and availability on a kilogram scale, our material stands out qualitatively and quantitatively from all previous ones. The material is produced in a first step as a semi-finished product in ingot form and then converted into various geometries. Blocks and rods are just as conceivable as wires of various diameters. We also manufacture special formats upon request. Through constant development of the manufacturing process we are succeeding in steadily improving the material quality as well as the production capacity. We are happy to be inspired by your ideas and needs and always take care to produce the optimum shape and quality for you.

    We are currently working on a manufacturing process for XHP-Mg single crystals with a defined crystallographic orientation.

    de Cavis is the exclusive licensee of this manufacturing technology in areas outside of medical technology. In the field of medical technology, there is a non-exclusive license, with the exception of cardiovascular implantsand osteosynthesis systems.

  • DEVELOPMENT OF LOW COST CERAMIC BUOYANCY SPHERES FOR UNDERWATER VEHICLES AND EQUIPMENT

    Deep sea mining takes place in ever-increasing depths of water, as the easily usable supplies are slowly exhausted. However, technical limitations currently prevent drilling at depths greater than three thousand meters. Due to the high dead weight and the heavy use of the steel drill pipe, there is a risk of component failure when drilling at such depths. The goal of developing new buoyancy spheres is to reduce stress and prevent failure.

    de Cavis is part of the European Union funded development project CeraSphere. The aim of the project is to develop low-cost ceramic hollow spheres and their manufacturing technology. Such high-strength hollow spheres are to be installed in a systematic manner in buoyancy modules and should allow drilling in sea depths of more than three thousand meters.

    The consortium consists of four small and medium-sized companies from Switzerland, Great Britain and Norway, two development partners and Trelleborg as a potential end-user. As a specialist in the field of application-oriented development of ceramic suspensions and associated molding processes, de Cavis brings its expertise to the achievement of ambitious technological project goals. To this end, we’re working closely together with our project partner High-performance Ceramicsof Empa Dübendorf.

    pdf-Icon_transparent  CeraSphere brochure

    pdf-Icon_transparent  CeraSphere poster

    pdf-Icon_transparent  Oil and Gas Exploration Expertise Running Deep (Oil & Gas Connect Issue 16)

  • MATERIAL CHARACTERIZATION

    Material characterization is a key element in the development of novel ceramic materials. Every development activity starts with a high-quality analysis of raw materials, which is indispensable for a successful project implementation. We determine particle size distribution, specific surface area and surface charge of powders. In addition, we analyze the sintering behavior of ceramic green bodies by means of dilatometry and the final microstructure by means of light or scanning electron microscopy. On request, the rheological behavior of ceramic suspensions can be determined, and phase analysis can be performed by means of XRD.

TECHNOLOGY AND MATERIAL CONSULTING

We look forward to advising you on questions regarding ceramic materials, their properties and processing. Our many years of experience as an inventor and developer of ceramic materials provide us with a broad range of expertise and give us access to a large network within the industry and the university landscape. Upon request, we also offer technology research and assessments as well as failure analysis.

CONTACT

de Cavis AG
Überlandstrasse 129

CH-8600 Dübendorf
Switzerland

email: info@decavis.com

Phone: +41 44 552 12 77
Fax: +41 44 552 12 81
Mobile: +41 79 537 98 95

pdf-Icon_transparent  EMPA Dübendorf layout

YOUR NAME (REQUIRED)

YOUR EMAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED)

SUBJECT (REQUIRED)

YOUR MESSAGE (REQUIRED)

Als leidenschaftliche Materialmanufaktur entwickelt und fabriziert de Cavis innovative Prozesse und Produkte im Werkstoffbereich. Dabei beginnt die Reise nicht selten bei einer Grundlagentechnologie, die dann schrittweise und kundenspezifisch in einen Herstellungsrozess und ein spezifisches Produkt weiterentwickelt wird.

Unser Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf der Entwicklung und Vermarktung unserer patentierten Schäumungstechnologie zur Herstellung hochporöser mineralischer Werkstoffe mit Luftgehalten zwischen 50 und 95vol%, auf der Entwicklung keramischer Auftriebskörper für Unterwasserfahrzeuge sowie auf der Herstellung von hochreinem und ultrahochreinem Magnesium.

Gerne unterstützen wir auch Sie bei der Weiterentwicklung und Kommerzialisierung Ihrer Technologie oder Ihres Produkts.

Nebst unserer Entwicklungsdienstleistung stellen wir auch unsere Erfahrung und unser breites Fachwissen im Bereich Materialcharakterisierung, Werkstoffe und Herstellungsprozesse als Service- und Beratungsdienstleistung zur Verfügung.

PRODUKTE

de Cavis bietet eine breite Palette an keramischen Feuerleichtsteinen und hydraulisch gebundenen porösen Materialien  für eine Vielzahl möglicher Anwendungen sowie ultrahochreines 4N5 Magnesium in Drahtform oder in Spezialformaten an.

  • FEUERLEICHTSTEINE FÜR ANWENDUNGSTEMPERATUREN BIS 1700°C

    Unsere Feuerleichtmaterialien zeichnen sich durch eine ausserordentlich homogene Mikrostruktur, geringes Gewicht, gute mechanische Festigkeit, niedrige Wärmeleitfähigkeit und gute Bearbeitbarkeit aus. Ausserdem sind sie frei von Fasern und gesundheitsgefährdenden Stoffen. Das Raumgewicht kann von 1500kg/m3 bis hin zu 200kg/m3 betragen und präzise auf Kundenwunsch eingestellt werden. Nebst Halbnormsteinen sind auch komplexere Geometrien und grössere Formate denkbar.

    Das potentielle Einsatzgebiet unserer Feuerleichtmaterialien ist breit gefächert und wir sind stets bestrebt, die Materialeigenschaften entsprechend Ihren Anforderungen anzupassen.

  • HYDRAULISCH GEBUNDENE WÄRMEDÄMM- UND BRANDSCHUTZMATERIALIEN

    Unsere hydraulisch gebundenen porösen Materialien basieren typischerweise auf Kalziumaluminat, Portland Zement, Gips oder ähnlichen Rohstoffen. Je nach Anwendung und Materialanforderung weisen sie Raumgewichte im Bereich zwischen 80 und 1200kg/m3 auf. Unser Schäumungs- und Herstellungsprozess erlaubt auch die Fabrikation grosser oder komplexer Formate.

    Potentielle Anwendungsgebiete unserer hydraulisch gebundenen mineralischen Materialien finden sich typischerweise im Bereich der Gebäudedämmung sowie des Brandschutzes.

  • XHP-Mg: ULTRAHOCHREINES MAGNESIUM

    Die Technologie zur Herstellung unseres ultrahochreinen Magnesiums wurde durch das Labor für Metallphysik und Technologie der ETH Zürich entwickelt. de Cavis ist Lizenznehmer dieser Technologie und für ihre Weiterentwicklung und Vermarktung mitverantwortlich.

    Unser 4N5 XHP-Mg erfüllt höchste Anforderungen an die Materialreinheit und weist weniger als 100ppm Verunreinigungen auf. Insbesondere zeichnet es sich aus durch einen sehr geringen durchschnittlichen Eisenanteil von 0.6ppm und Aluminiumanteil von 0.5ppm. Zur Zeit fabrizieren wir Drähte mit 3 und 10mm Durchmesser. Auf Anfrage sind Durchmesser von 6 und 20mm sowie andere Formate bis zu 1kg ebenfalls möglich.
    Desweiteren bieten wir auch hochreines Magnesium in verschiedenen Formaten an.

ENTWICKLUNG UND DIENSTLEISTUNGEN

de Cavis begleitet Sie von der ersten Konzeption Ihrer neuen Anwendung über die Definition der gewünschten Materialeigenschaften und der richtigen Materialauswahl bis hin zur Skalierung auf Produktionsmassstab und führt die Material- und Prozessentwicklung qualitätsbedacht und zielgerichtet für Sie aus. Dabei stehen Ihre Bedürfnisse und Ihre Wünsche stehts im Zentrum unseres Arbeitens.

Seit der Grundlagenentwicklung und Patentierung unserer  Schäumungstechnologie arbeiten wir ständig an deren Weiterentwicklung, um den Ansprüchen unserer Kunden und ihrer jeweiligen Anwendung stets gerecht werden zu können. de Cavis ist Lizenznehmer der Schäumungstechnologie und hat die Möglichkeit, Unterlizenzen zu vergeben.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Labor für Metallphysik und Technologie der ETH Zürich entwickeln wir die Technologie zur Herstellung von ultrahochreinem Magnesium weiter, um den stetig wachsenden Materialanforderungen gerecht zu werden und neue Märkte erschliessen zu können.

  • ENTWICKLUNG UND PRODUKTION HOCHPORÖSER KERAMISCHER WERKSTOFFE

    de Cavis‘ einzigartige Schäumungstechnologie verdankt ihren Ursprung einem ungewollten Zufallsbefund in der Forschungsgruppe von Prof. Ludwig Gauckler an der ETH Zürich und wurde anschliessend durch Dr. Gonzenbach im Rahmen seiner Promotion mitentwickelt und patentiert. Die Technologie beruht auf der Stabilisierung wasserbasierter Schäume durch feinste Partikel. Dadurch entstehen nasse Schäume, welche aufgrund ihrer aussergewöhnlichen Langzeitstabilität in solide Bauteile überführt werden können, die höchste Ansprüche an die Qualität und Homogenität der Mikrostruktur erfüllen. Dabei ist ein gezieltes Einstellen der Materialdichte ebenso möglich wie eine breite Variation der Porenstruktur und Porengrösse. Selbst bei grossformatigen Bauteilen ist die geschlossen oder offenporige Mikrostruktur unvergleichbar homogen, wodurch zuverlässige Bauteileigenschaften erzeugt werden können.

    Der universelle Charakter der Schäumungstechnologie ermöglicht die Entwicklung und Herstellung poröser Materialien aus verschiedensten Rohstoffen wie zum Beispiel Aluminiumoxid, Siliziumdioxid, Aluminosilikate, Zirkonoxid, Kalziumaluminatzement, Portlandzement oder Gips. Die Schäumungstechnologie wurde auch auf verschiedene Polymere und Metalle sowie auf Polymer-Keramik-Komposite ausgeweitet. Mehr Information dazu finden Sie auf unserer Publikationsseite. Entsprechend der breiten Materialauswahl sind den Einsatzmöglichkeiten kaum Grenzen gesetzt.

    Die durch de Cavis entwickelten porösen Materialien heben sich durch ihr leichtes Gewicht, ihre hervorragenden mechanischen, thermischen und elektrischen Eigenschaften sowie ihre präzise Bearbeitbarkeit von anderen Werkstoffen ab. Ausserdem sind sie nicht brennbar, gesundheitlich absolut unbedenklich und frei von jeglichen Fasern. Mögliche Anwendungsbeispiele unserer Schäumungstechnologie finden sich im Bereich der Hochtemperaturisolation, der Gebäudeisolation, des Brand- und Schallschutzes sowie der Medizinaltechnologie als Knochenersatzmaterial.

    Nebst der eigentlichen Schaumentwicklung befasst sich de Cavis auch intensiv mit dem Thema der Formgebung solcher Materialien. Dabei haben wir uns zum Ziel gesetzt, nicht nur einfache Bauteile wie Norm- und Halbnormsteine sondern auch grössere Formate sowie komplexere Geometrien durch unsere Technologie realisieren zu können.

  • ENTWICKLUNG UND PRODUKTION VON ULTRAHOCHREINEM MAGNESIUM

    Ultrahochreines Magnesium (>99.99%) besitzt ein grosses Anwendungspotential in Bereichen wie der Halbleiterindustrie oder medizinischer Anwendungen. de Cavis entwickelt, produziert und vertreibt höchstreines Magnesium in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Labor für Metallphysik und Technologie der ETH Zürich. Der patentierte Herstellungsprozess beruht auf einer Vakuumdestillation von Magnesium und wurde massgeblich durch die Professoren Jörg Löffler und Peter Uggowitzer sowie durch Christian Wegmann entwickelt. Mit einem Reinheitsgrad von bis zu 99.995% und einer Verfügbarkeit im Kilogramm-Massstab hebt sich unser Material sowohl qualitativ wie auch quantitativ von allem bisherigen ab. Das Material wird in einem ersten Schritt als Halbzeug in Barrenform hergestellt und danach in verschiedene Geometrien umgeformt. Dabei sind Blöcke und Stangen genauso denkbar wie Drähte verschiedenster Durchmesser. Auf Anfrage fertigen wir gerne auch Spezialformate. Durch konstante Weiterentwicklung des Herstellungsprozesses erreichen wir eine stetige Verbesserung der Materialqualität sowie der Herstellungskapazität. Gerne lassen wir uns von Ihren Ideen und Bedürfnissen inspirieren und sind stets darauf bedacht, die für Sie optimale Form und Qualität herzustellen.

    Zur Zeit arbeiten wir an einem Herstellungsprozess von XHP-Mg-Einkristallen mit definierter kristallografischer Orientierung.

    de Cavis ist exklusiver Lizenznehmer dieser Herstellungstechnologie in Bereichen ausserhalb der Medizinaltechnologie. Im Bereich der Medizinaltechnologie besteht eine nicht-exklusive Lizenz mit Ausnahme der Gebiete Cardiovaskuläre Implantate und Osteosynthesesysteme.

  • ENTWICKLUNG PREISWERTER KERAMISCHER AUFTRIEBSKÖRPER FÜR UNTERWASSERFAHRZEUGE UND GERÄTE

    Öl- und Gasförderung findet in immer grösseren Wassertiefen statt, da die leicht nutzbaren Vorräte langsam erschöpft sind. Technische Limitationen verhindern zur Zeit jedoch Bohrungen in Tiefen grösser dreitausend Meter. Aufgrund des Hohen Eigengewichts und der starken Beanspruchung des stählernen Bohrgestänges besteht beim Bohren in solchen Tiefen die Gefahr von Bauteilversagen. Die Entwicklung neuartiger Auftriebskörper hat zum Ziel, die Beanspruchung zu reduzieren und ein Versagen zu verhindern.

    de Cavis ist Teil des von der Europäischen Union finanzierten Entwicklungsprojektes CeraSphere. Das Projekt hat zum Ziel, preiswerte keramische Hohlkugeln und deren Herstellungstechnologie zu entwicklen. Solche hochfesten Hohlkugeln sollen in geordneter Art und Weise in Auftriebskörper eingebaut werden und Bohrungen in Meerestiefen von mehr als dreitausend Metern ermöglichen.

    Das Konsortium besteht aus vier kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen aus der Schweiz, Grossbritannien und Norwegen, zwei Entwicklungspartnern und Trelleborg als potenzieller Endanwender. Als Spezialist im Bereich der anwendungsorientierten Entwicklung keramischer Suspensionen und zugehöriger Formgebungsverfahren bringt de Cavis ihre Expertise für das Erreichen der hochgesteckten technologischen Projektziele ein. Dafür arbeiten wir eng mit unserem Projektpartner Hochleistungskeramik der EMPA Dübendorf zusammen.

    pdf-Icon_transparent  CeraSphere Broschüre

    pdf-Icon_transparent  CeraSphere Poster

    pdf-Icon_transparent  Oil and Gas Exploration Expertise Running Deep (Oil & Gas Connect Ausgabe 16)

  • MATERIALCHARAKTERISIERUNG

    Materialcharakterisierung ist ein zentrales Element bei der Entwicklung neuartiger keramischer Werkstoffe. Eine qualitativ hochstehende Analyse der Rohmaterialien steht am Anfang jeder Entwicklungsaktivität und ist für eine erfolgreiche Projektumsetzung unabdingbar. Wir bestimmen Partikelgrössenverteilung, spezifische Oberfläche und Oberflächenladung von Pulvern. Zusätzlich analysieren wir das Sinterverhalten keramischer Grünkörper mittels Dilatometrie und die finale Mikrostruktur mittels Licht- oder Rasterelektronenmikroskopie. Auf Wunsch kann auch das rheologische Verhalten keramischer Suspensionen ermittelt sowie Phasenanalyse mittels XRD durchgeführt werden.

TECHNOLOGIE- UND MATERIALBERATUNG

Gerne beraten wir Sie zu Fragen rund um keramische Werkstoffe, deren Eigenschaften und Verarbeitungsprozesse. Unsere langjährige Erfahrung als Erfinder und Entwickler keramischer Werkstoffe verschafft uns ein breites Fachwissen und gibt uns Zugang zu einem grossen Netzwerk innerhalb der Industrie und der Universitätslandschaft. Auf Wunsch bieten wir auch Technologie-Recherchen und Beurteilungen sowie Schadenfallberatung an.

KONTAKT

de Cavis AG
Überlandstrasse 129

CH-8600 Dübendorf
Schweiz

email: info@decavis.com

Telefon: +41 44 552 12 77
Fax: +41 44 552 12 81
Mobile: +41 79 537 98 95

pdf-Icon_transparent  Situationsplan EMPA Dübendorf

Ihr Name (erforderlich)

Ihre email Adresse (erforderlich)

Betreff (erforderlich)

Ihre Mitteilung (erforderlich)